Rocker Arms

  
Post technical questions and answers about your ride.

Moderators: tpirocz, Aron213, zroc, 87350tpi


camarothatcould
 

Rocker Arms

Postby camarothatcould » Mon Apr 30, 2007 9:45 am

I have two sets of rocker arms. Both are the self aligning. I had the pushrod guideplates installed so now I guess I can't use these rockers. I don ot want to spend alot of money on anything right now, I just need a rocker that I can use with my setup, I heard GM makes just a flat ended rocker?

help. k thnx


camarothatcould
 

Postby camarothatcould » Mon Apr 30, 2007 9:52 am

is this what I need?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Rocker-Arm-Set-Chevy-sb-sbc-Small-Block-283-327-350-400_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ33624QQihZ008QQitemZ180110107738QQrdZ1QQsspagenameZWDVW

"They fit 1955 - 1986 small block Chevy 267, 283, 302, 305, 307, 327, 350, 383, and 400 V8 engines. These rockers are for the early model cylinder heads not requiring self aligning type rockers."

User avatar
rlandrum
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 585
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: Warrenton, VA

Postby rlandrum » Mon Apr 30, 2007 10:05 am

I would call Jegs or Summit and tell them what you have and what you think you need and they'll steer you in the right direction.

http://www.jegs.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_10001_10002_831437_-1_10233

I'm not sure what size stud you're using, so make sure that you get matching rockers for whatever size stud you have (3/8ths or 7/16ths).
86 IROC-Z


camarothatcould
 

Postby camarothatcould » Mon Apr 30, 2007 10:08 am



86Z28Iroc-Z
IROCZONE Team
IROCZONE Team
 
Posts: 1433
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: North Freakin Dakota...

Postby 86Z28Iroc-Z » Mon Apr 30, 2007 10:44 am

I would definatly keep an eye on ebay.
Last edited by 86Z28Iroc-Z on Sun May 06, 2007 10:06 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Image

User avatar
Jester
IROCZONE Team
IROCZONE Team
 
Posts: 3639
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2002 6:41 pm
Location: Miami: Will the last American to leave, please bring the flag.

Postby Jester » Mon Apr 30, 2007 5:54 pm

You can probably use the ones you have. It's that you don't NEED guideplates if you have SA rockers...not that they can't be used together. They shouldn't rub unless one of your guideplates is out of alignment or something.
'90 RS; resurrection in progress.
'92 Z28 convertable; stock 305, 14.1 @ 95.3
'97 Z71; L31, 6" of lift
-=ICON Motorsports=-

User avatar
Aron213
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17930
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2002 10:19 pm
Location: Ocala Florida

Postby Aron213 » Mon Apr 30, 2007 6:51 pm

or take the guide plates off, put some headbolt washers under the studs and run it with teh SA rocker arms


camarothatcould
 

Postby camarothatcould » Mon Apr 30, 2007 6:53 pm

I dont want to take the studs out. So are those the rockers I need? My shop teacher has a bucket full from the motors we disassembled, they are flat edged. I'm assuming that they are the right ones?

User avatar
blk89 5.7liter
IROCZONE Team
IROCZONE Team
 
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2004 6:51 pm
Location: lansing michigan

Postby blk89 5.7liter » Mon Apr 30, 2007 10:03 pm

Yes those are the right ones.
Camarothatcould wrote: then you woke up and found your surrounding blankets wet...

User avatar
R6IrocZ28
Gay Bored Admin
Gay Bored Admin
 
Posts: 6372
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 4:19 pm
Location: Orlando, Fl

2010 Audi A4

Postby R6IrocZ28 » Mon Apr 30, 2007 10:26 pm

i'll buy a set of self aligning rockers off you for 20 bucks being you no longer have use for them :)
Image


camarothatcould
 

Postby camarothatcould » Mon Apr 30, 2007 11:28 pm

maybe barry... maybe

User avatar
nitemare3o5
IROCZONE Team
IROCZONE Team
 
Posts: 7686
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 9:35 pm
Location: Pawtucket, RI

Postby nitemare3o5 » Tue May 01, 2007 6:18 am

i have harland sharp roller rockers on the 80, they are supposed to give up to 40 horsepower over stock style rockers...
IZ PICK 'EM *NFL* CHAMPION
Image


Slow Z
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 12:42 pm
Location: Millville, NJ

Postby Slow Z » Tue May 01, 2007 8:51 am

it boggles the mind as to why you won't accept the cheapest and easiest solution to your problem ...TAKE OFF THE GUIDEPLATES! $100+ SAVED!
1.56 60ft on factory stock suspension and no frame connectors...
Image


86Z28Iroc-Z
IROCZONE Team
IROCZONE Team
 
Posts: 1433
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: North Freakin Dakota...

Postby 86Z28Iroc-Z » Tue May 01, 2007 10:09 am

Slow Z wrote:it boggles the mind as to why you won't accept the cheapest and easiest solution to your problem ...TAKE OFF THE GUIDEPLATES! $100+ SAVED!


Truely mind bottling...plus then you could sell the guide plate and make money back!
Image

User avatar
Aron213
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17930
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2002 10:19 pm
Location: Ocala Florida

Postby Aron213 » Tue May 01, 2007 11:28 am

Slow Z wrote:it boggles the mind as to why you won't accept the cheapest and easiest solution to your problem ...TAKE OFF THE GUIDEPLATES! $100+ SAVED!


to easy for him, he want the difficult road


camarothatcould
 

Postby camarothatcould » Tue May 01, 2007 6:41 pm

I'm sure the studs have been loctite'd. Plus I dont know the torque spec on them. If I knew that stuff, maybe I'd do it.

User avatar
Aron213
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17930
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2002 10:19 pm
Location: Ocala Florida

Postby Aron213 » Tue May 01, 2007 7:02 pm

camarothatcould wrote:I'm sure the studs have been loctite'd. Plus I dont know the torque spec on them. If I knew that stuff, maybe I'd do it.



you dont loctite studs, you put teflon or avation sealant....50 ft lbs, dont forget the washer or you might break the boss if they were cut for guidplates


camarothatcould
 

Postby camarothatcould » Tue May 01, 2007 8:42 pm

So all I ask for are head bolt washers and they are the same width as the guideplates?

User avatar
rlandrum
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 585
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: Warrenton, VA

Postby rlandrum » Wed May 02, 2007 9:46 am

I didn't teflon my studs. What purpose does it serve? None of then enter oil or water passages.

Of course, for headbolts, I used the ARP stuff.
86 IROC-Z


camarothatcould
 

Postby camarothatcould » Wed May 02, 2007 9:48 am

I might be able to pick those flat tipped rocker arms up for free. Would that clear everything up?

User avatar
Aron213
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17930
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2002 10:19 pm
Location: Ocala Florida

Postby Aron213 » Wed May 02, 2007 11:41 am

rlandrum wrote:I didn't teflon my studs. What purpose does it serve? None of then enter oil or water passages.

Of course, for headbolts, I used the ARP stuff.


on factory heads the studs for the exhuast goes into the water jacket and the ones on the intake goes into the runner on most of them, so by not sealing you run either a water leak or vacuum leak


camarothatcould
 

Postby camarothatcould » Thu May 03, 2007 12:41 am



Return to Technical Discussions



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest