18" factory Iroc rims??? or after market

Post technical questions and answers about your ride.

Moderators: tpirocz, Aron213, zroc, 87350tpi

flathead youngin

18" factory Iroc rims??? or after market

Postby flathead youngin » Wed Feb 22, 2006 6:44 pm

Hey guys, newbie here......

I had an 87 camaro right after I graduated HS.....loved the car but sold it down the road. I grew up admiring 3rd gen camaros and always dreamed of owning an iroc......it was THE car to me...

anyway, I'm looking for one.....no hurry, looking for the right car at the right price.

there's a REALLY sharp convertable on ebay right now. he says it has 18" Iroc rims. I messaged him asking if they were after market. From his response I gathered that they were factory. What years did these come on or are they indeed after market rims......they look JUST like the earlier single bar rims....

ok, i think i need to host it.......i'll do that in the reply...
i'll see if I can attach a pic...

Last edited by flathead youngin on Wed Feb 22, 2006 6:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

devestator_x
Elite Member
Elite Member

1983 Chevrolet Camaro

Postby devestator_x » Wed Feb 22, 2006 6:47 pm

They make aftermarket IROC rims in larger sizes. They look just like the originals but in 18" and chrome. The largest factory rim was 16". Hawk's third gen ahs the aftermarket irocs for sale at about $1000 for 4.
1983 Camaro Z/28 All original, under 100,000 miles.

"Real cars dont power the front wheels, they lift them."

flathead youngin

Postby flathead youngin » Wed Feb 22, 2006 6:52 pm

hey, thanks for the quick response.....he just called them "iroc rims"....well, that could be taken either way...

1k is a lot of jack, but there's a lot of work in polishing a factory set......

thanks, this gives me some ideas.....

it'll probably be a 6 months to a year before I lay out the jack for one, but I keep looking and learning what I want....

smellyfella
I'm a special boy
I'm a special boy